Book 9: Spellcaster by Claudia Gray

I found Spellcaster in the library, I haven’t read anything else by this author, but I liked the cover so I decided to give it a go.

This story is about magic and witchcraft, but in this story only women can be witches and know about magic, it’s against the magical laws for women to tell men about this power. Power is passed down through the generations; mums, aunts and grandmas teach daughters until they are old enough to join a coven and finish their studies. If a girl isn’t taught magic from a young age they lose the ability to cast spells and are unable to get it back once it’s lost, even if they are taught by an experienced witch years later.

In our story we follow our leading lady, Nadia, who moves from the big city with her dad and little brother to a tiny town in the middle of nowhere. Their mum has left them and so moving is their way of making a new start.

Despite not finishing her magical training Nadia can still practice some basic spells and she can certainly sense something dark and opposing over the town.

I found this book hard to get into, but once I’d cracked the first chapter I was in and loved meeting all the different characters and delving deep into the history of the town. I thought the ‘villain’ was pretty cool, really well constructed and it was cool how complex curses had been woven into the town people’s lives, oh and spells, they were really beautiful! In this story spells are cast differently to other stories, they’re not made using verbalised words, foreign languages or rhyming, in this story you still need magical items, but instead of words you focus on powerful memories, different memories for the different magic you are creating. It was a pretty cool way of spell casting!

Unfortunately I did find the ending a bit ‘meh’, so I don’t think I am invested enough to continue with the series, although I’m sure it would be good.

Have you read this book? What did you think?

I’m reading and reviewing books for charity, if you would like to nominate a book or sponsor my challenge please see free to visit my Virgin Giving page! http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Jenireadsandlifts

